Welcome New Vicar General: Msgr. Robert Deeley

This morning, an email was sent to the priests of the Boston Archdiocese from Fr. Bryan Parrish, assistant Vicar for administration, with a letter from the new Vicar General, Msgr. Deeley.

BCI is pleased to offer our warmest welcome to Msgr. Deeley!  Below is the email sent out this morning. The communication speaks for itself, and BCI will let the letter stand on its own without any commentary from us, except for mere reiteration of one point.

Msgr. Deeley said in his message, “I humbly ask for the prayers of all the faithful in the Archdiocese, clergy, religious and laity, as we work together in continuing the work entrusted to us by Christ.”  We suggest all BCI readers pray for the success of Msgr. Deeley in his new role.  If each reader could make the time to pray a Rosary for him over the holiday weekend and offer even just a Rosary a week for the intention of his service and assistance with the governance of the archdiocese, we have no doubt that the intercession of the Blessed Virgin Mary will make a difference.

Here is the communication from Msgr. Deeley:

Good Morning,

Today, September 1st, marks the beginning of a new assignment for me in the service of the Archdiocese of Boston as Vicar General and Moderator of the Curia.  With this appointment Cardinal Seán has asked me to assist him in the governance of the whole Archdiocese, a request I have willingly accepted. As I begin that great responsibility, I want to thank His Eminence for the trust he places in me asking me to serve the Church in Boston in this way.

Before speaking of my new ministry, however, I want first to thank Fr. Richard Erikson, who has just completed five years of dedicated service to the Archdiocese in this same position as Vicar General and Moderator of the Curia.  Fr. Erikson has been generous to me with his time and assistance during this transition.  It is a reminder for me of how unselfishly he has given himself to all of us in promoting the good of the Archdiocese during the years of his leadership.  These years have shown us the goodness of his priestly heart.  His love for Christ has been evident in his unwavering commitment to the good of the Church in Boston.  This extraordinary dedication has been a blessing for our Archdiocese.   I hope now that his time of renewal in Rome at the Institute for Continuing Theological Education of the Pontifical North American College will be rich, and will provide a well deserved sabbatical.  I am confident that I speak for all in the Archdiocese as I thank him for his dedicated and gifted service and assure him that we look forward to his return home later this year.

As I now succeed Rev. Erikson I am able to see how much has been accomplished during these first eight years of Cardinal Seán’s leadership as Archbishop.  He has led a vigorous effort to heal and rebuild our local Church.  I ask you to continue to pray for the Cardinal as he leads and governs this Church in Boston as Shepherd and Teacher. In this new assignment, I pledge my commitment to serve him and the entire Archdiocese to the best of my abilities. I humbly ask for the prayers of all the faithful in the Archdiocese, clergy, religious and laity, as we work together in continuing the work entrusted to us by Christ.

Over these last few weeks, since my return to Boston from Rome, I have enjoyed the opportunity to reconnect with my family and friends.  I have also had the chance to be with many priests, who have reminded me of how blessed we are in the service of these good priests in our Archdiocese. The dedication of these men in nurturing the relationship of the faithful to Jesus Christ in a time when there are less of them to continue this ministry is edifying.  They serve the people of the Archdiocese generously.  I encourage you to pray for them, and pray as well for vocations, so that their number might be increased.  I look forward over the next several months to traveling around the Archdiocese and meeting with the priests to hear of the joys of their ministry as well as the challenges they are encountering.  In my work in the Archdiocese I will be trying to be as supportive of their essential ministry as I can.

To our Pastoral Center staff and those of the various ministries across the Archdiocese, as well as our deacons and our consecrated women and men, that work to support our parishes, schools and related agencies, please know that I am deeply grateful for your dedicated commitment to the Church.  In so many ways, you have faced numerous pastoral challenges these past few years.  All of us in the Archdiocese need to be thankful for your outstanding service.  I look forward to working with you, as we strive together to rebuild and reinvigorate the Archdiocese of Boston in accord with the vision of Cardinal Seán.

These past years of work in Rome have given me a unique opportunity to be near His Holiness, Pope Benedict XVI.  I could not help but note that, whatever the difficulty he encounters, or the problem that arises, he is always confident in the grace of Christ.  The word that most captures the spirit of Benedict XVI is “joy”.  He teaches us to place our hope in Jesus Christ, who is our joy, as well as the truth of our lives.  Accepting this call is fundamental to our mission as Church. We need to come to know that grace ourselves and then, in accord with the call of our Baptism, to share it with others. As I begin this new assignment I ask for your prayers, and promise a remembrance in mine.  Together may we bring the joy of Christ’s love to our corner of the world here in the Church in Boston.  May Mary, Mother of the Church, Our Lady of Hope, intercede for God’s abundant blessings on our Archdiocese.

Sincerely yours in Christ,

Monsignor Robert P. Deeley
Vicar General and Moderator of the Curia

10 Responses to Welcome New Vicar General: Msgr. Robert Deeley

  1. Fr. Bill says:

    Considering what he faces, he will need our prayerful support.
    In christian charity, we might also pray for our former Vicar General, Rich Erikson his recovery from his recent post as a member of the Cardinal O’Malley ‘team’ ….

  2. Lazarus'Table says:

    Absolutely no question Msgr Deeley is a good man and priest. No question that Fr Erikson is, too. But Fr. Bill makes a point when mentioning Fr E’s “recovery”.
    No doubt Fr E took on the VG job believing he could do something good for Christ and His Church in Boston. But the machinery in Boston/Braintree is too much for any one man to overcome. His public comments aside, I wonder what Fr E must really be feeling. Relief? Grief? Being Used? I realise my writing this may be terribly unfair/unjust to Fr E and I regret that, but I can’t imagine a person of his character/calibre being pleased at what see witnessed and to some degree may have been compelled to be part of. Yes, his reovery and renewal and return to joy is something we all should pray for.
    And certainly pray for everything good for Msgr Deeley. But I’m not exactly sure what specifically to ask God for Msgr Deeley– “Don’t let him get sucked in,” “Help him care more about souls that money,” “Protect him from the vultures,”. I don’t know. Sad thing is, when you eat the king’s bread you become beholden to the king. Msgr Deeley eats the King’s Bread; I pray that he feels more beholden to that King than to any prince.
    God bless Msgr Deeley. God save the archdiocese of Boston.

  3. jbq2 says:

    There is no doubt that Cardinal Sean is a chameleon. There is also no doubt that the Catholic Church in America has been infiltrated by the “superforce” of Malachi Martin. This force is an organized and cohesive and powerful gay cadre. They are sincere but stilted in their view of life and Christianity. That is what is destroying the Church and what is apparently being tolerated by the good Cardinal.

  4. Former Employee says:

    I have dealt with Msgr. Deeley’s predecessor and have some letters in my possession under his signature which contradict one another and statements made by a Vicar General of another diocese that contradict these letters and his direct statements and I have witnesses to these contradictions so from personal experience I must conclude that this is the best thing to happen to the Archdiocese in some time.

    In fact, while I do not know Msgr. Deeley, I do know his reputation and I am familiar with his “resume” therefore I find myself thinking Robert Cardinal Deeley, Archbishop of Boston has a nice ring to it.

    • Fr. Bill says:

      Former … you do Father Deeley no favor by wishing him a red hat !

      • Liam says:

        There should be no more red hats for Boston for at least a century; it’s not helped us. Frankly, I’d like to see red hats distributed by lot and for fixed terms of years; no more cardinalatial sees.

  5. DBP says:

    I found it interesting that Msgr. Deeley said that, “Cardinal Seán has asked me to assist him in the governance of the whole Archdiocese.”

    Maybe it’s just a turn of phrase or wishful thinking, but it seemed to me to be hinting at a greater role than is traditionally played by the Vicar General. It sounds more like Coadjutor than Vicar General.

    And, like Former Employee, I have personally witnessed the dark side of the previous VG. While many thought/think of him as an exemplary priest, I’m afraid to say that I often found that he engaged in prevarication, for whatever reason(s). I am very glad he’s gone.

    I join Msgr. Deeley in praying for Fr. Erikson’s “renewal,” and I urge all of those who read this blog to pray for Msgr. Deeley as he faces the daunting task ahead of helping the Archdiocese of Boston recover. Finally, I hope that, as a positive change, Msgr. Deeley will value truth above all things.

    • Lazarus'Table says:

      DPB, prevarication is an essential ability for employment at 66 Brooks Dr. But it’s ok, they do it for the church…..

  6. Carolyn says:

    By all accounts, Msgr. Deeley is intelligent, knowledgeable and hard working. While no litmus test could give a true reading of his progress in the job, what happens to all those salaries over $150,000 will come pretty close. He would get an early standing O if he could remediate that inexcusable practice, and put Boston in line with the Archdiocese of New York, or better yet, the Archdiocese of Hartford.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 602 other followers

